What Do the Colors on a Multi-Color LED Device Actually Mean?
LIGHT THERAPY · FOUNDATIONS
Read the spectrum before you read the benefit chart.
A colorful control panel can make LED therapy look simple. Understanding what each setting actually emits takes more than matching a color to a skin concern.
Short answer: The colors on a multi-color LED device identify settings, but they do not establish seven separate wavelengths or seven proven skin benefits. Some settings combine light from several LED channels. To interpret a claim, you need the measured spectrum for that mode, its output at the skin, and human evidence matching the intended outcome. A purple glow is not proof of a unique “purple therapy,” and a color name cannot establish a safe treatment routine. [1] [2]
A color setting describes appearance, not a clinical result
Separate three questions: What does the light look like? What wavelengths reach the skin? What outcome has been tested? A mode label answers only the first unless it comes with technical documentation. Wavelength is expressed in nanometers (nm); a spectrum shows how optical output is distributed across wavelengths.
Purple can be a mixture
Red and blue light together can appear magenta. The two components remain present; mixing them does not turn them into one wavelength halfway between red and blue. Blue and green can similarly produce cyan, and red and green can produce yellow in additive color mixing. [1]
That means a mode called “purple” could describe a red-and-blue combination, whereas a violet-emitting channel is a different optical arrangement. A yellow setting could use a yellow-emitting LED or a mixture. Ask which arrangement the device uses. Do not infer it from a photograph, a screen icon or the mode name.
Seven modes need not mean seven independent light sources. As a simple engineering example, three independently switched channels permit seven nonempty on/off combinations. This explains how a device could offer several colors using fewer channels; it does not identify the construction of any particular mask.
A mixed mode needs its own evidence
Evidence about red light and evidence about blue light do not automatically establish the effect of their combination. You still need to know each channel’s output in the mixed setting and whether it operates simultaneously or in sequence. The clinical question is whether the tested combination produced the claimed outcome, not whether its components have appeared in separate studies.
FDA’s draft PBM submission guidance asks for wavelength, radiant dose, irradiance, output mode and relevant pulsing details. It remains a US draft, not an international treatment protocol. Its technical framework helps show why a color name alone is incomplete. [2]
A color-to-claim table that leaves room for unknowns
Use this table to check a claim, rather than to select a treatment. The clinical entries refer to the sources reviewed here; they are not a complete inventory of all LED research.
| Mode label | What needs checking | Evidence boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Red or blue | Actual wavelengths, target outcome and output for that setting. | Human LED literature exists, but results vary by condition and study parameters. A generic color is not a device validation. [3] |
| Purple | Red-plus-blue mixture, a violet channel, or another arrangement? | A combined appearance establishes neither a new wavelength nor additive or superior benefits. [1] |
| Green | Does the emitted spectrum match the cited study? | A small 505 nm mask study provides a human pigmentation signal; it cannot validate every green setting. [4] |
| Yellow | Single-band emission or mixture; which skin outcome? | Specific yellow LED studies exist. Evidence about sensitive skin or post-procedure redness is not a universal soothing claim. [3] [5] |
| Amber | Measured emission rather than an assumed distinction from yellow. | An amber melasma pilot did not demonstrate significant clinical improvement; it cannot support a general pigment-removal claim. [6] |
| Cyan | Single channel or blue-plus-green combination; exact clinical comparator. | No matched standalone human evidence for a generic “cyan calming” setting was verified in this review. Unknown is not proof of benefit. |
| Orange | Emission band, mixture and an LED-only study addressing the claim. | No matched standalone human evidence for generic “orange brightening” was verified here. Evidence from a different light technology is not interchangeable. |
| White or all-color | Full spectrum and contribution of each channel. | Appearance does not disclose the spectrum or prove comprehensive skin benefits. |
Near-infrared also needs a specified wavelength and output. A visible mode indicator is not a measurement of an infrared channel. Treat undocumented components as unknown, rather than filling the gaps with a standard rainbow chart.
Green, yellow and amber have different evidence questions
Green: an early human result with a narrow scope
A 2025 study combined mouse melanoma-cell experiments, reconstructed skin models and a human mask study. The human component enrolled 15 healthy women aged 45–57. One randomly assigned facial side received 505 nm LED exposure; the other did not, and evaluators were blinded. Over eight weeks, the authors reported improvements in pigmentation-related measurements on the exposed side. [4]
This is more informative than a cell experiment alone, but the sample was small, participants continued their usual skincare, and several authors were affiliated with the mask manufacturer. It does not establish treatment of diagnosed melasma, every skin tone or another device’s green setting. Cell-pathway findings and human appearance measurements remain different forms of evidence. [4]
Yellow: promising findings do not create a universal “calming” mode
The 2018 systematic review describes 590 nm yellow LED studies evaluating redness after laser or IPL procedures, with short follow-up. Those studies concern the LED intervention in a specific recovery setting; they do not make LED interchangeable with the preceding laser or IPL procedure. [3]
A 2026 randomized study of 30 volunteers with sensitive skin compared an emollient-only control with 590 nm yellow LED and a 590/630 nm combination. Its publisher abstract reports improved symptom scores in both LED groups and improvements in several measurements with yellow light. Full methods were not verified here, so these findings remain an early, study-specific signal rather than a home-use protocol or a rosacea-treatment claim. [5]
Amber: the endpoint matters as much as the color
A 2025 randomized melasma pilot compared amber PBM with topical tranexamic acid over 12 weeks in 21 women. According to the publisher abstract, neither within-group nor between-group changes in the main clinical severity measures were significant. The trial ended early and was underpowered. Quality-of-life improvement does not establish pigment reduction, and a nonsignificant difference does not by itself prove the treatments equivalent. Full methods were not accessible here. [6]
These examples explain why “yellow soothes” and “amber removes pigmentation” are inadequate summaries. A color label, a biological hypothesis and a measured clinical outcome are separate things.
Ask for a separate evidence file for each mode
The most useful documentation connects the setting you can select to the light delivered and the outcome being claimed. Use the following questions as a verification checklist, not as settings to calculate yourself.
- Identity: Does the document name the exact model and version?
- Measured spectrum: Can the manufacturer provide a wavelength-versus-output plot for each setting, including mixed modes? Request peak wavelengths, bandwidth and measurement conditions.
- Delivered output: What irradiance reaches the treatment surface, at the intended geometry? For a mixture, can output be separated by channel?
- Mode behavior: Are channels simultaneous, alternating or pulsed? Are reported values peak or time-averaged?
- Human evidence: What device, participants, comparator, outcome and follow-up were used? Is the paper available beyond its abstract?
- Use boundaries: What does the current instruction manual say about the intended area, exposure limits, eye protection and suitability?
A specification sheet answers an optical question. A human study answers a clinical question. Neither substitutes for the other. A measured spectrum also does not establish safety on its own.
Read regulatory records mode by mode
FDA record K223544 names Guangdong Newdermo models FM-01, FM-02 and FM-03. Its summary identifies separate red, blue, infrared and mixed modes, with the mixed mode listing multiple wavelengths. The indications are also mode-specific, including an infrared topical-heating purpose. This is a useful document-reading example, not evidence about any other brand or seven-color device. [7]
A record must match the manufacturer, model and claimed use. A 510(k) clearance for named indications cannot be expanded into approval of every color-based claim. Likewise, an infrared heating indication should not be presented as proof of nonthermal PBM. [7]
Color does not tell you whether a mode is suitable
Use the current instructions for the exact device and setting. There is no universal duration, distance or sequence that can be derived from a seven-color chart. If eye protection is specified, use the protection recommended for that device; sunglasses are not a substitute for prescribed protective goggles. [8]
The American Academy of Dermatology advises discussing light-sensitive conditions and medications that increase photosensitivity with a dermatologist before at-home red-light use. It also notes that visible-light sensitivity and hyperpigmentation need attention in darker skin tones. These cautions do not establish the safety profile of every multi-color device. [8]
Do not change a medication or invent a waiting period to use a mode. Unclear instructions are a reason to obtain model-specific information. If exposure causes concerning pain, skin irritation or eye symptoms, stop using the device and seek appropriate medical advice.
Common misunderstandings
- “More colors mean broader proven benefits.” Mode count is not a count of successful human trials.
- “The color shown in a photo proves the wavelength.” A photograph is not a spectrum measurement.
- “A purple setting combines all the benefits of red and blue.” Combination performance needs combination evidence.
- “If the color has little research, it must be harmless.” Missing efficacy evidence says nothing definitive about safety.
- “Any study at a similar-looking color applies.” UV, lasers, IPL, photosensitizer-assisted PDT, bright-light lamps and infrared heating address different exposures or purposes; their results cannot simply be assigned to an ordinary LED mode.
Questions worth asking
Can two settings with the same color deliver different exposures?
Yes. The label does not specify spectral width, output, pulsing or geometry. Compare the measured specifications and the clinical context before treating settings as equivalent. [2]
Can I compare devices using total electrical wattage?
Electrical input is not the optical irradiance reaching skin. Request the latter at the documented treatment position, with measurement conditions. The distinction is one reason the FDA draft asks for radiant power and irradiance separately from a simple device label. [2]
Does a cycling mode count as using every color’s tested treatment?
No. Without a documented schedule and channel outputs, you do not know each component’s exposure. Even a fully described cycle needs evidence for the intended outcome; do not lengthen it to recreate separate study routines.
What if only the abstract of a study is available?
An abstract can establish that a study was conducted and describe its reported findings. It may omit details needed to judge blinding, delivered output or applicability. Record that limit, and avoid turning the summary into a device-specific protocol.
The useful question is what each mode can document
Read a multi-color LED device as a set of exposures to verify. A defensible claim needs a documented spectrum, delivered output, relevant human evidence and clear instructions. When any of those are missing, keep the conclusion limited to what is actually known.
Sources
- Institute of Physics. Additive colour mixing. Physics education; not clinical evidence.
- FDA. Photobiomodulation Devices: Premarket Notification (510(k)) Submissions. January 2023. Draft, nonbinding, not for implementation; US submission context.
- Jagdeo et al. Light-emitting diodes in dermatology: A systematic review of randomized controlled trials. 2018. Full review text checked; its search ended in 2017.
- Mima et al. Inhibitory Effect of 505 nm Green Light Emitting Diode on Melanin Synthesis in Cellular Experiments and a Human Intervention Study. 2025. Full archived article checked; small, device-specific human study.
- He et al. Efficacy and Safety of 590 Nm and 590/630 Nm Light-Emitting Diode Therapy for Sensitive Skin. 2026. Publisher abstract checked; full methods not verified.
- Galache et al. Amber LED photobiomodulation versus tranexamic acid for the treatment of melasma. 2025. Publisher abstract checked; full article requires access.
- FDA. K223544 decision letter and summary: FM-01, FM-02 and FM-03. 2023. Official record; documentary example, not a product recommendation.
- American Academy of Dermatology. Is red light therapy right for your skin? Professional patient education, primarily about red-light devices.
This article is for general educational purposes and does not provide medical advice. Follow the instructions for the specific device and consult a qualified healthcare professional about suitability and safety.